How does your garden grow …


Every afternoon, when I get home from work, I go to the garden to see what has changed. It never ceases to amaze me how fast plants grow! Last year I planted potatos in the main garden area and they rotted in the ground. This year I decided to try growing them in trash cans. I put about 6 inches of dirt in the bottom of the can and put the seed potatos in then covered them with about 2 inches of dirt. I’ve added more dirt as the plants grew. The red russets can is now full and the plants are over the top!! I planted the Yucon Golds about 2 weeks after the red russets but it won’t be long before they’ve caught up.

We finished up the irrigation system .. still have to tweak it a bit because the ground isn’t level – but it’s working for the most part.  Watering takes less than 30 minutes and uses a lot less water than the sprinkler we used a few years ago.  Everything is looking great and I’m sure we’ll have more tomatoes than we know what to do with.  We’ll share with our family & friends and I also plan on donating to the local Salvation Army soup kitchen & Senior Citizens Center. 

We have several varieties of tomatoes, yellow squash, zucchini, pickling cucumbers, lemon cucumbers, sweet pea pods, eggplant, bell peppers, several varieties of hot peppers, okra, purple hull peas, onions, strawberries, radishes, beets, turnip greens, salad mix veggies, and cantaloupe.  I’ve never been able to successfully grow cantaloupe in this garden but I’m trying a new area that is mostly sand type soil .. so we’ll see how that goes.  I planted an heirloom plant called a Ground Cherry last year and it’s supposed to self seed.  I’m anxious to see if any come up on their own this year.

I also have bird house gourds planted on a trellis/fence in line with the Giant Thuja baby trees.  They’re just starting to break ground – but soon they’ll start putting out runners and cover the fence.  They’re so pretty when it’s all in bloom!

Leave a Reply

