Icing recipe from Mawmaw’s recipe box


This one is written on the back of an envelope – I remember my grandmother making this one though – she called it a 7 Minute icing … 

1 1/2 C sugar

1/2 C Karo Syrup

2 egg whites

5 Tablespoons water or pineapple juice

Cook on a double boiler – have water boiling before you start mixing.

Beat with an electric mixer at high speed until the icing is in peaks.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Your garden is beautiful. It looks like a lot of work too. Is this in a regular neighborhood? Just curious.

    Reply

  2. Thank you, Darlene. And, yes, it is in a regular neighborhood. The lot is directly across the street from my house and has 2 natural gas mains that run diagonally across it so it can’t be built on – so it had been vacant since 1979 when the subdivision was created. I moved here in 1992 and bought the lot in 2000 … my garden has grown each year. I think I have it maxed out now though. It’s a bit out of place – but I get a lot of compliments. My grandmother was a diligent gardener – she hated weeds in the garden and I spent a lot of time with her .. so the OCD weeding passed on to me. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

