My Grandmother’s Recipe Box


My grandmother clipped recipes from magazines, newspapers, food packages, etc and kept them all in a blue Storybook Shoes shoebox.  The box is one of my most treasured possessions.  I can see her at the kitchen table, curtains moving from the breeze blowing through the window, looking through the box for that favorite recipe.

There are also a few written down on sheets of notebook paper and the back of old envelopes.  To me, those are absolutely priceless!  I’ve decided to share from the box from time to time.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

This is one from the Depression Era:

Corn Chowder

Made with just corn, potatoes, chicken broth, evaporated milk, onion and butter.
INGREDIENTS:
2 cups broth from boiled chicken (2 14.5 oz cans chicken broth)
2 (15 ounce) cans whole kernel corn
1 large white onion, diced
3 cups diced potatoes
2 (12 fluid ounce) cans evaporated milk
1/3 cup butter
salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:
In a large pot over medium heat, combine broth, corn, onion and potatoes. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover and simmer 15 to 20 minutes, until potatoes are just tender.
Stir in evaporated milk and butter until butter is just melted. Season with salt and pepper and serve at once.

One response to this post.

  1. Oh, what a precious heirloom. You are so lucky to have that! It’s like a treasure box. My mom has framed a handwritten copy of my great-grandmother’s recipe for apple spice cake. I will be duking it out with my sister to see who inherits it! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

