Gardening 2011 Style


After spending $60 + last year for garden plants I decided to grow my own for this year. I still may purchase some but for the most part, I’m using my own home grown. I asked the ladies I work with to save the toilet paper rolls for me and that’s what I’m using to make seed starters.
The toilet paper rolls are biodegradable so I don’t have to transplant them to another container – I have put some of the earlier tomatoe plants in 4″ peat pots just because it would be a few more weeks before I transplanted them to the garden. My kitchen window is full of heirloom tomatoe plants … Campbell’s & Brandywine.

The toilet paper rolls are biodegradable so I don’t have to transplant them to another container – I have put some of the earlier tomatoe plants in 4″ peat pots just because it would be a few more weeks before I transplanted them to the garden. My kitchen window is full of heirloom tomatoe plants … Campbell’s & Brandywine.

I’m using milk jugs cut nearly in half as mini greenhouses. After the seedlings have a pretty good start I’m moving them over to plastic shoe box containers so I can keep them watered from the bottom.

So far ar I’ve been pleased with the results. However, I bought some seed starter from Dollar General Store that I’m very unhappy with. At least 1/2 of the seedling starts have soured & has grown mushrooms! I’ll stick to Jiffy from now on.

Friday was such a beautiful day – my grands, Kaylie & Carter, helped me plant Purple Hull & Cream peas and okra after I got the rows made. We had so much fun and I hope they have fond memories of the day just as I do of the many times I helped my grandparents with their gardens when I was their age.

dreamhost promos

Leave a Reply

